You are here

2020 South Carolina Bankruptcy Law Association Awards

Thursday, December 17, 2020

The bankruptcy court has the pleasure of congratulating the recipients of the J. Bratton Davis Professionalism Award and the William E.S. Robinson Public Service Award, presented recently by the South Carolina Bankruptcy Law Association.


Tara Nauful was honored with the Robinson Award. This honor is awarded to a member that has rendered distinguished public service to the legal profession and the community, as was exemplified by Billy Robinson. Consistent with the award’s criteria, the nomination highlighted Tara’s high ethical standards, courtesy, creative problem-solving, and inspirational example of fairness, industriousness, unselfish dedication, and determination.  It also applauded her pro bono work, CARE service, and other efforts in improving the lives of others through direct intervention, indirect organization, and empowerment.


Rick Mendoza received the Davis award. This award is named in honor of J. Bratton Davis, this district’s first bankruptcy judge under the Bankruptcy Code and, at the time of his retirement, the longest serving bankruptcy judge in this district. Judge Davis always epitomized the best of the legal profession: academic scholarship and perfection in his written opinions; considerate and polite to all who appeared before him; and the consummate gentleman in all that he did. The award honors unimpeachable integrity, devotion to legal scholarship, civility to all, unfailing professionalism in all ways, and impressive contributions and improvements to the legal profession. The letter nominating Rick noted: All of us who know Rick are well aware of his integrity, civility, and dedication to the improvement of our profession. Perhaps more so than with any other member of our bar. Rick’s demeanor is reminiscent of Judge Davis’s—never impatient or intemperate, and always the soul of tact, restraint, and good taste.


Congratulations to Tara and Rick and Happy Holidays to all!